Call for Nominations for the LACNIC Lifetime Achievement Award Is Now Open


Call for Nominations for the LACNIC Lifetime Achievement Award Is Now Open

LACNIC invites the community to nominate leaders of the Internet ecosystem who have made a significant contribution to the development of an open, stable and secure Internet for the 2018 Lifetime Achievement Award.

This year, the candidate nomination period will remain open until Monday, 12 March. Those interested in submitting a nomination can complete the candidate nomination form available at the following link:

Since its creation in 2009, LACNIC has presented its Lifetime Achievement Award to 19 leaders from 13 different countries, in recognition of their efforts to promote regional Internet development. Winners of the Award come from different backgrounds, including civil society activists such as Valeria Betancourt of Ecuador, entrepreneurs such as Marcos Galperín of Argentina, pioneers in the development of training programs and educational resources such as Bevil Wooding of the Caribbean, and more recently those responsible for e-government agencies such as José Clastornik of Uruguay.

The Lifetime Achievement Award seeks to promote and articulate collaborative efforts throughout the region and to recognize those who have achieved significant accomplishments and become an example for the community as a whole.

Valeria Betancourt, an activist in the field of ICT for development and social justice, received the award in 2012 for her support of civil society organizations in the strategic use of Information Technologies and her involvement in policy development processes at national, regional and global levels.

Likewise, Bevil Wooding, recipient of the 2013 award, played a leading role in the promotion of Communication Technologies in the Caribbean, with special emphasis on the development of training programs and educational resources for young people and the creation of infrastructure for a region where inequalities abound.

The latest recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award was José Castornik, a Uruguayan engineer who has promoted policies and coordinated efforts to integrate Information and Communication Technologies at public administration level, facilitating the lives of Uruguayan citizens.

2018 Award. This year, LACNIC will particularly value contributions in the fields of Internet governance, the promotion of the collaborative Internet model, the development of technical capabilities, encouraging the use and development of Internet standards, and the promotion of the digital economy in the region of Latin America and the Caribbean.

Ida Holz, Rodrigo de la Parra, Rafael Ibarra, Ben Petrazzini, Carolina Aguerre, Selby Wilson, and Jesús Martinez are serving as jurors for the 2018 Lifetime Achievement Award. Requirements for nominating candidates for the Lifetime Achievement Award are available at the following link:


Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments