New FRIDA/IGF Award 2011


New FRIDA/IGF Award 2011

The Regional Fund for Digital Innovation in Latin America and the Caribbean (FRIDA) announces that it is now accepting nominations for the FRIDA/IGF Awards 2011 to projects and initiatives that have significantly contributed to the use of the Internet in Latin America and the Caribbean.  This year proposals must focus on IGF 2011 issues in the areas of Internet access, freedom, development and innovation.

The FRIDA/IGF2011 award is organized with the support of the Latin American and Caribbean Internet Address Registry (LACNIC), the International Development Research Center (IDRC) and the Internet Society (ISOC).

The best initiatives will be sent to a committee made up by five independent experts who will evaluate the different projects and name the winners. Projects may be submitted until 5 August through, where those interested will find the terms and conditions for participation as well as the corresponding registration form. In addition, online voting will be conducted for which participants should promote their nominations.

Five awards will be presented: one award for each subject area and an award to the project with the best 2.0 campaign (the project with the highest number of votes). Each winning project will receive a prize consisting of US$3,000; in addition, travel and accommodation expenses will be paid for one representative of each project to attend the awards ceremony (Argentina, October 2011) and the 2011 IGF (Kenya, September 2011).

Notify of

Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments